The importance of Gayatri Mantra

Though I am a Brahmin & I also went through the thread ceremony at the age of 10, I was very confused at that time that why our ancestors & our elders have done this & what is the use? This question used to hit my mind whenever I was forced to do sandyavandanam in my native at that time. But today nobody forces me because today I have realized the importance of the Gayatri Mantra.
This mantra almost changed me during my childhood only. I used to chant it only because I had to do it & had no option. But I left chanting the mantra though I believe the almighty & chant his name & talk to him whenever I feel to. Today is the day I realized the importance of this mantra. Also, I will do make a point that I will chant it everyday without missing. This lesson is thought by my mother; when she saw me getting worried for any small matters & I was not the old Pavan who was very much active, sharp, enthusiastic, creative. She gave me few examples that made me shake & I thought why not I change my life doing this. As I needed that peace in my life & right now my qualities are anxious, tired and lazy.
Gayatri Mantra, according to my grandfather should be chanted thrice a day. But that is impossible. But the secret he shared was with my brother. he told him that the reason that still today he is 91 and has been active, business minded, thinks positive is only because that he gets that positive energy through that Mantra. Now he is so experienced that, whenever he breathes that mantra comes automatically. It flows throughout his body like the blood flows.This secret made him strong & today still people love him as a person & respect him a lot in the society. I too idolize him a lot. This is one example where my eyes got opened.
A person just doing a BCOM graduation from a small village & today he is an employee of India no. 1 software company is not a joke. I have seen him doing that & he had advised me to do that in my teens. However, today when I recall this I criticize myself, but soon I realize that time is still there to improve & start all over.
Gayatri Mantra:

Aum Bhur Bhuvah Swah, Tat Savitur Varenyam Bhargo Devasya Dhimahi, Dhiyo Yo Nah Prachodayat
ॐ भूर्भुव: स्व: तत्सवितुर्वरेण्यं । भर्गो देवस्य धीमहि, धीयो यो न: प्रचोदयात् ।।

Meaning:

Oh God, the Protector, the basis of all life, Who is self-existent, Who is free from all pains and Whose contact frees the soul from all troubles, Who pervades the Universe and sustains all, the Creator and Energizer of the whole Universe, the Giver of happiness, Who is worthy of acceptance, the most excellent, Who is Pure and the Purifier of all, let us embrace that very God, so that He may direct our mental faculties in the right direction.

literally it means,

God! You are Omnipresent, Omnipotent and Almighty.
You are all Light. You are all Knowledge and Bliss.
You are Destroyer of fear; You are Creator of this Universe,
You are the Greatest of all. We bow and meditate upon your light. You guide our intellect in the right direction.

The Gayatri Mantra is addressed to the energy of the Sun – Surya. Gayatri, Savitri and Saraswati are three goddesses representing the presiding deities of the famous Gayatri mantra chanted thrice a day.

What do you think? Please reply

